Dawson County Planning and Development

25 Justice Way, Suite 2322
Dawsonville, GA 30534


(706) 344-3500 phone
(706) 344-3501 phone

Contact by email

Office Hours:

Monday through Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
No Monies will be taken after 4:00 PM


Jameson Kinley, Director
(706) 344-3500 x 42337            jkinley@dawsoncounty.org

Diane Callahan, Office Manager
(706) 344-3500 x42255             dcallahan@dawsoncounty.org

(706) 344-3608

Tom Johnson, Building Inspector
(706) 344-3500 x 42263             tjohnson@dawsoncounty.org

Jerry Keasler, Building Inspector
(706) 344 3500 x 42357             jkeasler@dawsoncounty.org

Margaret Honn, Business License Technician
(706) 344-3651                           mhonn@dawsoncounty.org

Harmony Gee, Zoning Administrator
(706) 344-3500 x42336              hgee@dawsoncounty.org       

Angela Chester, Permit Administrator
(706) 344-3604                           achester@dawsoncounty.org       

Keith Wilson, Building Inspector
(706) 344-3608              

Angela Byers, Administrative Assisant
(706)344-3500 x42334             abyers@dawsoncounty.org

Grayson Smith, Code Compliance
(706) 344-3232              gsmith@dawsoncounty.org

Brendan Grindle, Animal Control
(706) 265-7387                           bgrindle@dawsoncounty.org




Our Mission

"Employing the highest ethical standards, the Planning and Development department shapes the built environment of Dawson County through innovative planning & managed growth, continuing the County's town lifestyle and rural traditions."

To accomodate the many challenges of change in Dawson County, our leaders have taken the lead role in promoting a high quality Planning and Development department.  This department is the proactive vehicle for directing growth within the county.  Beginning with the establishment of zoning and land use regulations in 1985, planning and development has been actively involved in pursuing a common vision for the county. 

The department is divided into separate divisions which work together to form a unique tool to both promote and control growth and economic development.  These divisions are Planning and Zoning, Building Permitting and Inspections.  Coupled with our valued administrative personnel we provide an excellent team of experience and customer service to the county.  We look forward to working together for a better community.

Important Impact Fee Announcement:

Impact Fee Announcement
This file includes important information regarding the suspension of impact fees in Dawson County. This change was approved by the Board of Commissioners on August 17, 2018.