Public Works

Public Works photo David McKee, Public Works Director

David McKee, Public Works Director
(706) 344-3500 X42227 phone

25 Justice Way, Suite 2232
Dawsonville, GA 30534

Submit a Service Request


Contact by email

Office Hours:

Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Road Crew:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Regular)
Tuesday - Friday 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM (Seasonal)

Transfer Station:
Monday - Saturday 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM


Alexa Bruce, Administrative Assistant             
(706) 344-3500 x42232 phone                              

Alexa Bruce


Bryan Young, Storm Water/Project Manager
(706) 344-3500 x42233 phone                               

Bryan Young







Devon Cox, GIS Technician                             
(706) 344-3500 x42228 phone                             

Devon Cox

Public Works Overview

The Dawson County Public Works Department provides quality service to the citizens of Dawson County and its visitors through the management of roads, bridges, and trails. Our goal is to protect our investment in infrastructure and to promote safe, efficient movement of people and vehicles.

The Department of Public Works is working for the residents of Dawson County all year round. To report a non-emergency public works-related problem, such as a pothole or downed street sign, please submit a service request or call the Public Works Department at (706) 344-3500 x 42232. Our staff responds to non-emergency requests during regular business hours.


Live in Dawson County-trying to find out who maintains your road?


 Dawson County Road Map

Type your address into the search bar provided in the link above

Click on the road in question and find out its details.


Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) Maintained Highways: Dawsonville and Dawson County is served by Georgia DOT District One.  The Area 1 office located is in Gainesville, GA, their contact information is (770) 535-5759 or  GDOT maintains the following state routes: SR9, SR53, SR136, and SR183.

Roads Department

Eddie Savage, Roads Operations Manager
     Steven Thomas, Field Supervisor
     Gary Millholand, Field Supervisor
     Josh C. Jones, Field Supervisor
     Justin Riddle, MotorGrader Operator
     Hunter Sears, Senior Equipment Operator
     Jordan Gaddis, Equipment Operator
     Adam Outz, Equipment Operator
     David Womack, Equipment Operator
     Tyler Hyde, Equipment Operator
     Steven Passmore, Equipment Operator
     Jason Hammond, Equipment Operator
     Charles DeLong, Equipment Operator


Transfer Station

     Lane Hathcock, Transfer Station Cashier
     Thomas Boyett, Transfer Station Cashier
     Billy Keeton, Community Service Coordinator  
     Josh L Jones, Transfer Station Hauler
     Randall Hudgins, Equipment Operator


Applications & Forms

Driveway Permit Application
Encroachment Permit Application
Right to Enter Agreement


General Information

GDOT: Proposed Road Projects for Dawson County
Snow-Ice Road Plan

Codes and Regulations

Dawson County Road Specifications
Approved Subdivision Regulations September 2010
Driveway Construction and Permitting Ordinance


Title VI Information

As a recipient of federal financial assistance under the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT), the Dawson County Board of Commissioners hereby gives public notice that it is our policy to assure compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987 and related statutes and regulations in all programs and activities.

Any person who believes they have been subject to unlawful discriminatory practices under Title VI has the right to file a formal complaint.  Click here for more information on Title VI.